Up Next

The World Around Us

Holy Mount Kailash: Tibetan Sacred Land, Part 2 of 3



Download Docx
Read More
At the heart of Himalayan Tibet, Mount Kailash is widely considered to be one of the most sacred sites on Earth. According to the Tibetan religion Bon, transcendental Lord Tonpa Shenrab Miwoche, the founder of Bon, entered western Tibet between 18,000 to 16,000 years ago. After defeating him, Tonpa Shenrab renounced His royal status to focus on meditation. Lord Tonpa Shenrab also stopped the practice of animal sacrifice performed by locals and suggested using wheat and grain effigies as a substitute in ceremonies. In the Bon religion, Mount Kailash is referred to as Yungdrung Gu Tse, the Nine-Story Swastika Mountain. The right-turning swastika signifies the sun, and left-turning swastika signifies the night.

Mount Kailash is also referred to as Khang Rinpoche by Tibetan Buddhists. Guru Rinpoche is said to be the Avalokiteshvara Bodhisattva, whose incarnation Shakyamuni Buddha had prophesized. He established the “School of Secrets,” initiated many disciples, and authored many texts while in Tibet, including the “Tibetan Book of the Dead.” Guru Rinpoche left His body to dwell in the pure Buddhafield, Akanishta, the highest conceivable realm on Mount Meru.

Although Holy Mount Kailash is known as unclimbable, according to the most famous legends, one Master successfully made the ascent: Milarepa, the famous 12th century enlightened Master. As is mentioned in Sutras, Milarepa was instructed by His great Master, His Holiness Marpa the Translator, to go to the sacred Mount Kailash to meditate on the knowledge He possessed. It is said that the couloir in the south face of Mount Kailash was made by Naro Bon-Chung's drum. Milarepa then tossed a handful of snow, creating a miniature Mount Kailash for Naro Bon-Chung. The legend of Milarepa’s ascent of Mount Kailash contributed to the establishment of Buddhism in the region, although many practitioners incorporate aspects of Bonpo teachings with those of the Buddha and Tibetan Buddhism.

In 1967, Robert Coon published a book entitled “Earth Chakras.” The chakras are believed to be the energy centers in our body. Similarly, the seven planetary chakras are the energy centers of the Earth. Considered by many the most sacred of all mountains and located in the Himalayas, Mount Kailash represents the crown chakra.

Watch More
Play List
Share To
Start Time
Watch in mobile browser
Scan the QR code,
or choose the right phone system to download