Up Next

Words of Wisdom

From the Secret Doctrine: Cosmogenesis - The Seven Creations, Part 1 of 2

Download Docx
Read More

The 19th-century Russian esotericist Helena Petrovna von Hahn, more popularly known as Madame Blavatsky or H.P.B., came from a noble family in Ukraine. As a child, Madame Blavatsky would often have visions and displayed clairvoyance as well as other metaphysical phenomena. Years later, she traveled throughout Europe and the Middle East studying under various teachers and Sufi saints. While in London, United Kingdom, she met one special teacher, an Indian yogi named Master Morya, who later directed her to go to New York in the United States. Once there, she founded the Theosophical Society in 1875 with other like-minded individuals. Madame Blavatsky wrote several important books on Theosophy, including “Isis Unveiled,” “The Secret Doctrine,” “The Key to Theosophy,” and “The Voice of the Silence.” “The Secret Doctrine” explains the origin and evolution of the universe and of humanity through an account of "Root Races" dating back millions of years. Although the writer of “The Secret Doctrine,” Madame Blavatsky often expressed that she was only the compiler of ancient wisdom that was passed on to her. The true authors of the work were her teachers, the Mahatmas, or Great Souls, who were the guardians of the Secret Wisdom of the ages. We will now share with you “From the Secret Doctrine: Cosmogenesis – The Seven Creations.”

“The Seven Creations are found in almost every Purana. They are all preceded by what Wilson translates as the ‘Indiscrete Principle,’ Absolute Spirit, independent of any relation with objects of sense. They are: (1) Mahattattva, the Universal Soul, Infinite Intellect, or Divine Mind; (2) Tanmâtras, Bhûta or Bhûtasarga, Elemental Creation the first differentiation of Universal Indiscrete Substance; (3) Indriya or Aindriyaka, Organic Evolution. ‘These three were the Prâkrita Creations, the developments of indiscrete nature, preceded by the Indiscrete Principle’; (4) Mukhya, ‘the Fundamental Creation (of perceptible things) was that of inanimate bodies’; (5) Tairyagyonya or Tiryaksrotas, was that of animals; (6) Ûrdhvasrotas, or that of divinities; (7) Arvâksrotas, was that of man. This is the order given in the exoteric texts. According to esoteric teaching, there are seven Primary, and seven Secondary ‘Creations’; the former being the Forces self-evolving from the one causeless Force; the latter showing the manifested Universe emanating from the already differentiated divine Elements.”

Share To
Start Time
Watch in mobile browser
Scan the QR code,
or choose the right phone system to download